Pupils and students, winners at IDMSC 2024 

Pupils and students, winners at IDMSC 2024 

Interactive Digital Media Student Contest 2024

The Politehnica University of Timișoara, through the Multimedia Center, organized the tenth edition of Interactive Digital Media Student Contest (IDMSC) 2024, On June 14, 2024, in the Multifunctional Hall of the UPT Library and online.

Now in its tenth edition, the IDMSC 2024 student competition aims, every year, to stimulate the creativity and competitive spirit of the participants. This year's edition brought together 38 pupils and students from Romania, but also international students from Germany and Finland, from the European University Alliance E³UDRES². 

The competition gathered dozens of creative minds, of young people passionate about the technological field, bringing together projects in fields such as: Web Development, Mobile Development, Graphic Design and Audio-Video Production, Internet of Things and eXtended Reality. The participants were able to interact directly with representatives of the economic environment, even their possible employers, but also with the management of the Timișoara Polytechnic University and the Faculty of Electronics, Telecommunications and Information Technologies.

The grand prize Interactive Digital Media Student Contest 2024 was won by the projects Med4Life and Historic DistrictsTM, both being made by the team formed by Andrei-Sebastian Nicula and Andreea Bolea (students in the Multimedia Technologies Master at the Politehnica University of Timișoara), the prize being offered by Lasting Software and the Politehnica University of Timișoara. 


Med4Life is a web development application that revolutionizes health management by integrating comprehensive daily health measurements with advanced predictive analytics to provide personalized recommendations and proactive health risk assessments. Historic DistrictsTM is an interactive map application that highlights the historical monuments in the center of Timisoara. Users can explore detailed GeoJson data (a format for encoding a variety of geographic data structures) of the monuments, view information and download PDFs for each location. 

This app enhances the appreciation of Timisoara's cultural heritage by providing an accessible digital resource for historians, tourists and locals.

To the category Web development the winning project was Partypulse, made by the student Matei Crăiniceanu (Liceul Teoretic "Nikolaus Lenau" Timișoara), and the prize was offered by Lasting Software. The paper presents a web application that facilitates communication between the DJ and the audience at a party. Through it, the audience can suggest a song for the DJ.

To the category Internet of Things, the winning project was Seeding Robot, made by Cristina Rodean and David Krin Urs (undergraduate students majoring in Computers and Information Technology, Politehnica University Timișoara), the prize being offered by Nokia. "The seeding robot" is a project designed to make farming tasks easier by providing an easier method of planting seeds in a garden.

To the category eXtended Reality was awarded by Lasting Software and the Cobalt Sign project UPT Racing Team made by Cătălin-Augustin Săvoiu and Rareș Nedea (students at the Multimedia Technologies master's degree, Politehnica University Timișoara). This project was created in the context of the TalkTech 2024 project. On this occasion, a 3D scene was created together with the insertion of 360 images to present the UPT racing team and give users in an immersive way the opportunity to learn information about the team and to interact in a virtual environment with it.

To the category Graphic Design and Audio-Video Production, the winning project was The door at the end of the corridor, made by Alexandra Cajvan, Ovidiu Călițoiu and Mihaela Ciobanu (students majoring in Electronics, Telecommunications and Information Technologies, Politehnica University Timișoara), the prize being offered by Nutechnologies. The project is a short film in the style of horror thriller that tells the story of a man who stays in an old location where strange events happen at the door at the end of the corridor.

To the category Development for mobile devices the winning project was BikePath, made by David Nenciu, Bogdan-Florin Barbu and Claudiu Spiescu, students from the "Ana Aslan" National College Timișoara, the prize being offered by Eta2U. BikePath is an application developed in Flutter, through which cyclists can view and record the quality of bike paths in their city. The quality index is calculated based on the accelerometer and GPS data retrieved from the user's phone. Users have access to data related to travel speed, distance traveled and time spent on the bike.

This year it was awarded a Special Award offered by Haufe Group Romania to the project WeStock, made by David Cheșa, Mihai Gorunescu, Victor Dosoniu, Ana Popovici (students at "Grigore Moisil" Theoretical High School Timișoara) and Casian George Oprea (student at "Jean Louis Calderon" Theoretical High School Timișoara), the prize being offered by Haufe Group . The application specializes in developing and providing advanced solutions for inventory management within companies.

Another Special Award was offered by Eta2U and Daniel Hnatiuc (student at "Jean Louis Calderon" Theoretical High School Timișoara), for the 𝐌𝐁𝐃𝐋𝐋𝐫𝐫𝐧 application, a platform that supports and helps the mentors of a CoderDojo to be able to organize their courses, announce events, write courses /quizzes or upload material and homework requirements.

“IDMSC 2024 far exceeded our expectations this year. I witnessed a convergence between the creative thinking and advanced technical skills of the young participants. Their projects demonstrated a deep understanding of the potential of emerging technologies, from artificial intelligence and augmented reality, to IoT applications with real impact in our world"
Prof. Dr. Ing Radu Vasiu
IDMSC 2024 Jury President

This year's IDMSC jury: Daniel Dobre (Nokia), Arthur Csertus (Cobalt Sign), Mihai Burada (Haufe Group), Gabriel Dumitru (Lasting), Atilla Simo (Eta2U), Raluca Vasiliu (Nutechnologies), Radu Vasiu, Mugur Mocofan and Silviu Vert (UPT Multimedia Center).